Present organization


  • Born in Antwerp on 17 February 1948
  • Doctor of medicine, surgery and obstetrics (Ghent University, 1973), master’s degree in law (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, VUB, 1980), doctorate in medical sciences (VUB, 2013)
  • General practitioner (1973-1999); second medical lieutenant with the fire brigade of Boom (1977-1983)
  • Professor at the Faculties of Physical Education, Physiotherapy, Medicine and Pharmacy (VUB, 1987-2013); member, in the capacity of Dutch-speaking magistrate, of the Advisory Committee on Bioethics (since 2000); member, in the capacity of physician, of the Federal Control and Evaluation Commission on euthanasia (since 2007)
  • Federal (1981-1995, 1999) and Flemish (1995-1999) Member of Parliament; alderman (1983-1985), then mayor of Boom (1986-1995); President of the Parliamentary Committee on Public Health and the Environment (1984- 1991); Vice-President of the Committee on Welfare, Health and Family Affairs (1995-1999); Vice-President of the ad hoc Committee on Special Youth Welfare (1998-1999)
  • Appointed Judge to the Constitutional Court by Royal Decree of 17 December 1999, and elected (Dutchspeaking) President with effect from 1 February 2016 to 16 February 2018

Etienne DE GROOT, President emeritus