Presentation

The place of the Constitutional Court

1. Establishment of the Court of Arbitration

         The Constitutional Court owes its existence to the development of the Belgian unitary state into a federal state.

         The unitary Belgian state has undergone thoroughgoing reforms since 1970. Those reforms, which took place in several stages, resulted in the establishment of a federal state where the legislative power is divided between the federation and the federated regions according to a system in which each legislative body has exclusive powers. The laws of the federation and the decrees and ordinances of the federated regions have the same force of law.

        The division of the legislative power between different legislative assemblies brought with it the risk of conflicts of competence, and the need to find a solution to this problem led the Constitutional legislator in 1980 to decide ‑ in the then Article 107ter of the Constitution ‑ to establish a new judicial body, the Court of Arbitration, which was given the task of demarcating the boundaries of each authority’s jurisdiction. For this purpose, the Court could review laws, decrees and ordinances for compliance with the division of competences that have been established by or in pursuance of the Constitution.

       The aforementioned constitutional provision was implemented by the Act of 28 June 1983, which defined the composition, competence and functioning of this new court. The Court of Arbitration was officially inaugurated in the Senate on 1 October 1984. On 5 April 1985 it delivered its first judgment.

2. From Court of Arbitration to Constitutional Court

         By the constitutional amendment of 15 July 1988, the competence of the Court was extended to include the supervision of the observance of Articles 10, 11 and 24 of the Constitution guaranteeing the principles of equality, non-discrimination and the rights and liberties in respect of education.

         By the same constitutional amendment of 1988, it was left up to the special legislator to grant the Court of Arbitration competence to review compliance with other articles of the Constitution. This facility has so far been used twice: the special Act of 9 March 2003 extends the competence of the Court to all provisions of Section II of the Constitution, which relate to rights and freedoms (Articles 8 to 32), as well as to Articles 170 (the legality principle in tax matters), 172 (the equality principle in tax matters) and 191 (the protection of foreign nationals) of the Constitution; the special Act of 6 January 2014 extends this competence further to Article 143, § 1 (the principle of federal loyalty) of the Constitution.

         When the Constitution was coordinated in 1994, the provision concerning the Court of Arbitration was incorporated in Article 142.

         When the Constitution was amended on 7 May 2007, the name of the Court of Arbitration was changed into “Constitutional Court”.

3. Legal (constitutional) foundations

         The present Article 142, first paragraph, of the Constitution stipulates that for the whole of Belgium there is one Constitutional Court, the composition, jurisdiction and functioning of which are determined by statute. The Court rules, by means of judgments, on conflicts of authority, on violations of Articles 10, 11 and 24 of the Constitution, and on violations of such articles of the Constitution which the law designates (the articles of Section II of the Constitution as well as Articles 143, § 1, 170, 172 and 191). A case can be brought before the Court by any authority designated by statute, any person who has a justifiable interest, or, in a preliminary issue, any court of law.

         Article 142 of the Constitution was implemented by the (repeatedly amended) special Act of 6 January 1989, which regulates the organization, jurisdiction, functioning and procedure of the Court and the effects of its judgments. An (ordinary) Act of 6 January 1989 regulates the emoluments and pensions of the judges, legal secretaries and registrars of the Court.

         The constitutional amendment of 6 January 2014 extended the jurisdiction of the Court to an a priori review of regional referendums and the review of decisions of the House of Representatives or its bodies concerning the election expenditure for the election of that legislative assembly. Those new provisions were implemented by two special acts of 6 January 2014 amending the special Act of 6 January 1989.

         Finally, there are several Royal Decrees, regulations and guidelines relating to various aspects of the competence and operation of the Court.

        All these texts can be found on the website of the Constitutional Court (www.const-court.be) under the heading “Basic Texts”.


Last updated : August 1, 2014.

Présentation

Place de la Cour constitutionnelle

1. Création de la Cour d’arbitrage

        La genèse de la Cour constitutionnelle s’inscrit dans le cadre de la transformation de l’Etat belge unitaire en un Etat fédéral.

        Depuis 1970, l’Etat belge unitaire a été fondamentalement transformé. Cette réforme, qui s’est faite en étapes, a donné lieu à un Etat fédéral dans lequel le pouvoir législatif est réparti entre la fédération et les entités fédérées, selon un système dans lequel chaque législateur dispose de compétences exclusives. Les lois de la fédération et les décrets et ordonnances des entités fédérées ont la même valeur juridique.

        La répartition de la compétence législative entre plusieurs assemblées législatives a entraîné un risque de conflits de compétences et la nécessité de trouver une solution a amené le Constituant à décider en 1980 – à l’article 107ter (ancien) de la Constitution – de créer une nouvelle juridiction, la Cour d’arbitrage, appelée à délimiter leurs compétences respectives. A cet effet, la Cour pouvait contrôler des lois, décrets et ordonnances au regard des règles de compétence fixées par la Constitution ou en vertu de celle-ci.

        La disposition constitutionnelle précitée a été mise en œuvre par la loi du 28 juin 1983, qui a concrétisé la composition, la compétence et le fonctionnement de cette nouvelle juridiction. La Cour d’arbitrage a été officiellement installée au Sénat le 1er octobre 1984. Elle a rendu son premier arrêt le 5 avril 1985.

2. De la Cour d’arbitrage à la Cour constitutionnelle

         Lors de la révision de la Constitution du 15 juillet 1988, la compétence de la Cour a été étendue au contrôle du respect des articles 10, 11 et 24 de la Constitution, qui garantissent le principe d'égalité, la non-discrimination et les droits et libertés en matière d'enseignement.

        La même révision de la Constitution de 1988 a laissé au législateur spécial le soin d’étendre la compétence de la Cour d’arbitrage au contrôle des normes législatives au regard d’autres dispositions constitutionnelles. Cette possibilité a été utilisée à deux reprises jusqu’à présent : la loi spéciale du 9 mars 2003 étend la compétence de la Cour au respect de la totalité des dispositions du titre II de la Constitution, qui concernent les droits et libertés (articles 8 à 32) ainsi que des articles 170 (principe de légalité en matière fiscale), 172 (principe d’égalité en matière fiscale) et 191 (protection des étrangers) de la Constitution; la loi spéciale du 6 janvier 2014 étend encore cette compétence à l’article 143, § 1er (principe de la loyauté fédérale) de la Constitution.

        Lors de la coordination de la Constitution en 1994, la disposition relative à la Cour d'arbitrage a été reprise à l'article 142.

         Lors de la révision constitutionnelle du 7 mai 2007, la dénomination de la Cour d'arbitrage a été modifiée en celle de "Cour constitutionnelle".

3. Fondements constitutionnels et légaux

       Selon l'article 142, alinéa premier actuel, de la Constitution, il y a, pour toute la Belgique, une Cour constitutionnelle, dont la composition, la compétence et le fonctionnement sont déterminés par la loi. La Cour statue par voie d'arrêt sur les conflits de compétence, sur la violation des articles 10, 11 et 24 de la Constitution et sur une violation des articles de la Constitution que la loi détermine (les articles du titre II de la Constitution ainsi que les articles 143, § 1er, 170, 172 et 191). La Cour peut être saisie par toute autorité que la loi désigne, par toute personne justifiant d'un intérêt ou, à titre préjudiciel, par toute juridiction.

        L'article 142 de la Constitution est exécuté par la loi spéciale (déjà modifiée à plusieurs reprises) du 6 janvier 1989, qui règle l'organisation, la compétence, le fonctionnement, la procédure devant la Cour et les effets de ses arrêts. Une loi (ordinaire) du 6 janvier 1989 fixe les traitements et les pensions des juges, des référendaires et des greffiers de la Cour.

        Lors de la révision constitutionnelle du 6 janvier 2014, la compétence de la Cour constitutionnelle a été étendue au contrôle préventif des consultations populaires régionales et au contrôle des décisions de la Chambre des représentants ou de ses organes en matière de contrôle des dépenses électorales engagées lors des élections pour cette assemblée législative. Ces nouvelles dispositions ont été mises en œuvre par deux lois spéciales du 6 janvier 2014 modifiant la loi spéciale du 6 janvier 1989.

        Enfin, plusieurs arrêtés royaux, règlements d’ordre et directives concernent divers aspects de la compétence et du fonctionnement de la Cour.

       Tous ces textes sont disponibles sur le site internet de la Cour constitutionnelle sous la rubrique « textes de base » (www.const-court.be).


Dernière mise à jour : 1er août 2014.